Last Bits of Anatomy

I had hoped to be able to finish off our project on the human body last week, after a fortnight studying the unit. But we had a busy week with lots of trips out and I have just had to accept that sometimes life doesn’t fit into nice round week-long units! It’s a reflection on me and the way my head works that I feel the need to make things fit like this, and a wonderful part of Home Education that means that it doesn’t have to. We can be flexible and change things whenever we feel it is right. I’m trying to embrace this, even if it does go against my grain of putting things into timetables!

20140708-113530-41730630.jpg

The Internal Organs

20140708-113529-41729183.jpg

Working hard

Working Hard

To complete the unit we have put the finishing touches to our body model, who is looking rather fabulous hanging on the living room door. Both girls also completed a lap book. J’s was a fabulous freebie from Homeschooling In Heels – thank you so much for this wonderful resource! K wanted to do a different project to her sister, so I found a HUGE selection of resources and information aimed at slightly older girls at Homeschool Share. This lapbook is based on an American book aimed at pre-teen girls, The Care and Keeping of You. We are in the UK and, although I could probably get a copy if I hunted high and low, decided that much of the information could be found elsewhere using resources I already had to hand. Both girls worked hard on their projects and learned a few new things along the way!

J's Finished Lapbook

J’s Finished Lapbook

J's Finished Lapbook

J’s Finished Lapbook

K's HUGE Lapbook!

K’s HUGE Lapbook!

 

 

 

Leave a comment